02.14.2011 – FAOBMB Announces The FAOBMB Medal Award Program, Issues Call For Nominations.

The 2011 FAOBMB Medal Award
Call for Nominations
Nomination Deadline: May 1, 2011
February 4, 2011
Dear Member delegates,
I am pleased to inform you that the call for nominations for the first FAOBMB Medal Award, 2011 is now open. Starting this year, the FAOBMB Medal is awarded annually to a distinguished biochemist or molecular biologist, based on work carried out predominantly within the FAOBMB region. The work should reflect excellence of scientific contributions to the field and sustained research productivity.
Nominees must be members of one of the FAOBMB constituent Societies or Groups with at least two years of continuous membership immediately prior to the nomination. The Medallist will receive the medal and citation from the FAOBMB President and present his or her work as the FAOBMB Lecture in a plenary session at the 22nd FAOBMB Symposium, 5-7 October 2011. The medalist will receive complimentary registration for the Annual FAOBMB Meeting as well as receiving a medal, an honorarium of USD 3000, and travel/accommodation allowance of up to USD 1000 provided by FAOBMB and sponsors.
Please submit your nomination no later than May 1, 2011via email to:
Professor John de Jersey
Secretary General, FAOBMB
School of Molecular and Microbial Sciences,
University of Queensland,
St Lucia, Queensland 4072, Australia.
Tel:  61-7-33651197  61-7-33651197
Fax: 61-7-33651613
Email: j.dejersey@uq.edu.au
For more information and to access the nomination form, please consult the FAOBMB Medal Guideline.
For further inquiries concerning the Award program, please contact:
Dr. Shan Chi Ku
Institute of Biological Chemistry,
Academia Sinica
128 Academia Road Sec 2, Nankang, Taipei Taiwan 11529
Tel: +886-2-2785-5696  ext. 5030
Fax: +886-2-2788-9759
On behalf of the FAOBMB, I invite you to nominate qualified candidates to be considered for the FAOBMB Medal Award. To this purpose I enclose here with the 2011 nomination form together with the guideline which provides useful information on the FAOBMB Medal 2011. The deadline to receive complete nominations for 2011 is May 1. Nominations are accepted by the Secretary General at any time but any received after May 1, 2011 will be considered for the 2012 award. The FAOBMB Medal Winners will be notified on July 1, 2011.
Counting on your continued support, I am looking forward to working with you.
Professor Andrew H.-J. Wang
President, FAOBMB
Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Site Build by: abCreative productions